Teaching Awards

2023: NYU MLK Faculty Award

2022: NYU Distinguished Teaching Award

2021: Champions of Equity Award, NYU Steinhardt Office of Equity, Belonging and Community Action

2017: Steinhardt Teaching Excellence Award

2016: Nia Faculty Award for Co-Curricular Endeavors around Diversity and Social Justice (NYU CMEP)

2012: Outstanding Faculty Award, NYU Steinhardt Undergraduate Student Government

2003: (Fall and Spring) Harvard University Certificate of Distinction in Teaching

Selected Academic Honors and Awards

2024: NYU Steinhardt Griffiths Research Award (for Crip Authorship)

2020: Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize (with Xiaochang Li, for “Vocal Features: From Voice Identification to Speech Recognition by Machine”), Society for the History of Technology

2020: 4S STS Infrastructure Award (with co-founders and co-editors of Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience)

2013: Walter Benjamin Award for Outstanding Article in the Field of Media Ecology (for “Hearing Aids and the History of Electronics Miniaturization”)

2012: Maurice Daumas Article Prize (for “On Disability and Cybernetics”), International Committee for the History of Technology

2011: Beaverbrook Visiting Scholar, Media@McGill

2010: Irving K. Zola Award for Emerging Scholars, Society for Disability Studies

2009: Schachterle Essay Prize (for “Deaf Jam”), Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts

2009: William Cadogan Essay Prize (for “Deafening: Telephones, School Tests, and the Making of the Audiogram”), British Society for the History of Paediatrics and Child Health

2008: First Place Award for Student Research Paper and Poster, Center for Nanotechnology in Society, Arizona State University

2008: Best Graduate Student Paper, International Association for Science, Technology, & Society 23rd Annual Conference

2006: Women in Technological History (WITH) Travel Award, SHOT

2006: Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship, Society for the History of Technology